Fight a Drug Crime Charge in Manchester
Avoid Penalties with George T. Campbell, Attorney at Law
Accused of a drug crime? These types of arrests occur frequently and can vary widely in severity depending on the type and volume of controlled substance involved, the suspected offense, the criminal history of the defendant, and other factors. Regardless of the severity of the charge, it is critical that the accused confront these allegations with vigilant and knowledgeable defense counsel by their side.
At George T. Campbell, Attorney at Law, I have become well-versed in how the state of New Hampshire pursues convictions against suspected drug offenders over the last 23 years of my legal career. These cases are often subject to civil rights abuses and law enforcement error and require a knowledgeable, scrutinizing approach to ensure the best possible outcome for the accused. If you have been arrested, the time to consult with a seasoned Manchester drug crime defense lawyer is now.
For the tenacious legal defense services you need, don’t hesitate to contact me today by calling (603) 787-5364 to schedule a free consultation.
Types of Possession Cases
Drug possession is the most frequently charged drug crime. To be convicted of a possession charge, the prosecution must show that you knowingly possessed a controlled substance prohibited by New Hampshire law. Possession can be documented by the authorities in two different ways—actual possession and constructive possession.
Here's how to understand actual and constructive possession:
- Actual possession: When you knowingly have a drug on your person.
- Constructive possession: If you control an area, such as a house or car, where drugs were present.
You have the right to privacy and if any of your rights were violated when the drugs were seized from your property, this can be addressed in court. Before you proceed with your case, make sure that the charges against you are assessed by an experienced New Hampshire drug crime defense attorney.
Penalties for Drug Offenses in New Hampshire
The type of controlled substance you are in possession of will drastically affect your penalty.
- Marijuana: New Hampshire has decriminalized marijuana to a certain degree, meaning simple possession for personal use have been reduced—with more than a ¾ of an ounce resulting in a misdemeanor. If you are convicted with possession with intent to sell however, it is still a felony.
- Schedule V drugs: These substances have a lower potential for abuse than the other classification of controlled dangerous substances (CDS) and are typically used as antidiarrheals or for analgesic purposes. Punishments can include prison time up to 3 years and $15,000 in fines.
- Schedule IV drugs: Possession of drugs like Xanax, Ambien, Darvon, Ativan, and Tramadol are still considered a low-abuse risk, but can come with a Class B felony charge for first-time offenders.
- Schedule III drugs: Classified as drugs with a low to moderate potential for physical and psychological dependence, and include substances like ketamine, anabolic steroids, and products containing under 90 milligrams of codeine per dose.
- Schedule II drugs: Defined as substances with a high potential for abuse, possession of drugs such as cocaine, methadone, oxycodone, Adderall, can come with penalties like over 5 years of prison and $20,000+ in fines.
- Schedule I drugs: With a high potential for abuse and no currently accepted medical use, first-time possession of drugs such as heroin, LSD, and ecstasy is also considered a Class B felony with extensive prison time and fines attached.
If your drug charge is a second-time offense you may face Class A felony charges which can lead to 15 years in prison and up to $50,000 in fines. If you or a loved one has been charged with possession or other drug-related crime, reach out to Attorney George Campbell as soon as possible.