Assault & Battery Attorney Manchester, NH
Retain Experienced Counsel from New Hampshire Criminal Defense Lawyer George T. Campbell, Attorney at Law
In New Hampshire, assault and battery charges refer to the same crime of "assault." Assault and battery are defined as intentionally or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person or making offensive or harmful physical contact with that person's consent.
If you are convicted of assault, you can expect serious repercussions. No matter what kind of assault charge you face, you will need to retain a hard-hitting Manchester, New Hampshire assault and battery defense lawyer. When you need a proven legal advocate in your corner, you can count on my experienced 23-year legal career. My Manchester criminal defense firm knows how to protect clients both in and outside the courtroom and is ready to help you assess your defense options.
For more information about how I can help you, call George T. Campbell, Attorney at Law today at (603) 787-5364.
What are Types of Assault Charges in New Hampshire?
Misdemeanor Assault and Battery - "Simple Assault"
- Intentionally or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person
- Intentionally making unwanted physical contact with another person
- Negligently causing bodily injury to another person by using a deadly weapon
However, if the assault occurred during a fight that was entered into mutually by both parties, the crime is charged as a violation, which is an even lower sentence than a misdemeanor.
What is Felony Assault & Battery?
Simple assault and/or battery is raised to the level of a felony when the injury caused is more serious, involved reckless or intentional use of a deadly weapon, or when the victim is a child.
Second Degree Assault in New Hampshire
According to NH Rev Stat § 631:2, second-degree assault is charged with a Class B felony when the defendant has been accused of:
- Knowingly or recklessly caused a serious bodily injury to another person
- Recklessly caused bodily injury to another person by using a deadly weapon
- Intentionally caused bodily injury to a child younger than 13 years old
First Degree Assault in New Hampshire
According to NH Rev Stat § 631:1, first-degree assault is charged with a Class A felony when the defendant has been accused of:
- Purposefully or knowingly caused serious bodily injury to another
- Purposefully or knowingly caused serious bodily injury to another by using a deadly weapon
- Intentionally caused serious bodily injury to a child younger than 13 years old
Penalties for Assault & Battery in New Hampshire
Depending on which type of charge you face, you can expect the following penalties:
- Class A misdemeanor: This charge is punishable by up to one year in jail and a $2000 fine
- Class B felony: This charge is punishable by up to seven years in prison and a $4000 fine
- Class A felony: This charge is punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $4000 fine
If you are convicted of assault, you can also lose the right to carry or possess a firearm.
What is Aggravated Assault?
Under New Hampshire law, aggravated assault is defined as intentionally or recklessly causing serious bodily injury to another person or causing bodily injury with a deadly weapon. Serious bodily injury is defined as bodily injury that results in a substantial risk of death, serious permanent disfigurement, or impairment of a bodily function or organ.
Aggravated assault can also occur if the assault is committed against certain classes of victims, such as law enforcement officers, emergency responders, or certain healthcare providers.
Penalties for aggravated assault in New Hampshire can include:
- Fines of up to $4,000
- Up to 15 years in prison
- If a deadly weapon was used in the commission of the offense, the penalty may be increased to up to 20 years in prison
It's important to note that the severity of the offense and the penalty will depend on the case's specific circumstances.
What is the difference between assault and battery?
Assault and battery are two distinct but often related legal terms used to describe acts of violence or harmful conduct. Though they are commonly used together, they refer to different aspects of an aggressive act and have specific legal definitions.
Assault typically refers to the act of threatening or attempting to harm someone physically, instilling fear or apprehension of imminent bodily harm, even without actual physical contact. It is more focused on the mental aspect of causing fear or anticipation of harm. Battery pertains to the actual intentional physical contact or harmful actions that result in the offensive touching of another person without their consent. Unlike assault, battery involves direct physical harm or offensive contact with the victim. Our Manchester assault and battery attorney can help you with your case.
Assault & Battery Attorney Near Me
When you face such serious charges that can gravely affect your future, you need to secure legal representation immediately with a Manchester assault and battery attorney.
To consult with me, don’t hesitate to contact George T. Campbell, Attorney at Law to request a case evaluation today.